Sunday, May 1, 2011

Book Review: Heart of Lies

Heart of Lies is the second book in the Irish Angel Series by Jill Marie Landis. It is the story of Maddie Grande who grew up as a thief and beggar in a tribe of street urchins in New Orleans.

As an adult Maddie and her brothers move out to the bayou. As Maddie hopes for a new life her brothers have other plans and kidnap the daughter of a wealthy man, forcing Maddie to care for her.

A Pinkerton agent, Tom Abbott, is assigned to the kidnapping case. Maddie is a thief, Tom a man of the law, but there is an attraction between them that they can't deny. The kidnapping case ties into a woman that Tom had already been looking for, but what will happen when he may lose Maddie forever when revealing her true identity. I liked this book, but I wouldn't say I loved it. It was interesting, but predictable.

As this is the second book in a series reading the first would be helpful, but definitely not necessary. This book ties in to the first book, once it gets into the second half. Heart of Lies is a good book for an easy read, or a second book (when you are already reading a book and need a break from it).

This is a books that, I thought, centered one the idea of honesty. Being honest with yourself, others and trusting in the power that honesty has. Heart of Lies is a book that I would recommend.

Zondervan has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Life is busy, thanks for taking a moment to leave a note!